Muscle Sport Magazine

Results: Alliance of American Football Quarterback Draft

Alliance of American Football/Benjamin Brinker

The Alliance of American Football’s inaugural Quarterback Draft aired on CBS Sports Network on Tuesday night, giving us a glimpse of the faces who will be leading the league’s eight teams when it launches this coming February. Coaches, GMs, friends, family, and of course the fans gathered at the HypeX eSports Arena in Las Vegas to find out who each team would select in the Alliance’s unique “Protect or Pick” draft allocation system.

The unique draft format saw teams opt to “protect” one of the players allocated to them by region in the 1st round, or “pick” a player from another market.

The San Diego Fleet had first dibs, with GM Dave Boller and coach Mike Martz calling the shots. They chose to protect a quarterback with ties to the region, the University of San Diego’s Josh Johnson, as their number one selection. On hand for the historic occasion was Johnson’s cousin, Super Bowl-winning running back Marshawn Lynch.

It was a magical moment, Johnson said, to be introduced on live TV by Hall of Famer Kurt Warner as the Alliance’s number one quarterback pick, and then be greeted on stage by Super Bowl hero Hines Ward, as well as Martz, a Vince Lombardi Trophy winner himself. Doesn’t get much better than that!


Drafted by the NFL’s Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the fifth round in 2008, Johnson spent time playing for the Jets, Browns, 49ers, Raiders, and Giants. But now, he’s back in San Diego and eager to get reps on an exciting spring stage.


The Alliance begins its inaugural season the weekend after the upcoming Super Bowl. Here’s how the rest of the draft played out:


  1. San Diego Fleet (Protect): Josh Johnson, San Diego
  2. Atlanta Legends (Protect): Aaron Murray, Georgia
  3. Memphis Express (Protect): Troy Cook, University Tennessee at Martin
  4. San Antonio Commanders (Protect): Dustin Vaughan, West Texas A&M
  5. Birmingham Iron (Pick): Luis Perez, Texas A&M-Commerce
  6. Arizona Hotshots (Pick): Trevor Knight, Texas A&M
  7. Orlando Apollos (Pick): Garrett Gilbert, Southern Methodist
  8. Salt Lake Stallions (Pick): Josh Woodrum, Liberty


  1. San Diego Fleet: Mike Bercovici, Arizona State
  2. Birmingham Iron: Blake Sims, Alabama
  3. Arizona Hotshots: John Wolford, Wake Forest
  4. Orlando Apollos: Stephen Morris, Miami
  5. Atlanta Legends: Matt Simms, Tennessee
  6. Salt Lake Stallions: B.J. Daniels, South Florida
  7. Memphis Express: Christian Hackenberg, Penn State
  8. San Antonio Commanders: Marquise Williams, North Carolina


  1. San Antonio Commanders: Logan Woodside, Toledo
  2. Memphis Express: Brandon Silvers, Troy
  3. Salt Lake Stallions: Austin Allen, Arkansas
  4. Atlanta Legends: Peter Pujals, Holy Cross
  5. Orlando Apollos: Austin Appleby, Purdue
  6. Arizona Hotshots: Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech
  7. Birmingham Iron: Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin
  8. San Diego Fleet: Philip Nelson, East Carolina


  1. San Antonio Commanders: Dalton Sturm, Texas-San Antonio
  2. Memphis Express: Zach Mettenberger, LSU
  3. Salt Lake Stallions: Matt Linehan, Idaho
  4. Atlanta Legends: Justin Holman, Central Florida
  5. Orlando Apollos: Kevin Anderson, Fordham
  6. Arizona Hotshots: Jack Heneghan, Dartmouth
  7. Birmingham Iron: Aleksander (“Alek”) Torgersen, Penn
  8. San Diego Fleet: Alex Ross, Coastal Carolina

The Alliance of American Football kicks of on February 9, 2019, one weekend after the Super Bowl, on CBS!

SOURCE: Dinn Mann/Alliance of American Football


One Comment

  1. Pingback: Alliance of American Football QB Draft Review - AAF | Muscle Sport Magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *