Muscle Sport Magazine

Dexter Jackson, William Bonac Headline 2020 Arnold Classic

Five-time champion Dexter “The Blade” Jackson, the winningest professional bodybuilder in history, 2018 champion William “The Conqueror” Bonac and two other former champs will do battle at the 32nd Arnold Classic men’s bodybuilding championships in March 2020.

Jackson eclipsed Flex Wheeler’s record of four Arnold Classic titles when he won in Columbus in 2015. Jackson also took home the title in 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2013. Bonac will try to earn his second Arnold Classic title, as will former champions Cedric McMillan (2017) and Victor Martinez (2007).

Others in the field of 14 expected to challenge for the title March 7, 2020 in Columbus during the Arnold Sports Festival include Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Ellsbiay, 2017 Arnold Classic Europe and 2015 Arnold Classic South America champion; 2018 Arnold Classic Australia winner Roelly Winklaarand Josh Lenartowicz.

The Arnold Sports Festival will again feature IFBB Pro League contests in eight divisions in 2019.

A new champion will be crowned in Fitness International as 2019 champion Ryall Graber is not returning. Missy Truscott, fourth last year and second at the Fitness Olympia, is among the favorites. Challengers include Tiffany Chandler, third in Columbus in 2019, and Jeanine Taddeo, sixth at the Olympia.  2019 Arnold Amateur winner Haley Lisenba will make her pro debut.

Figure International will see a new champion as Cydney Gillon will not return. Latorya Watts, a two-time Figure Olympia champion who won the Figure International in 2016, returns to Columbus for the first time in three years, fresh off a second-place showing at the 2019 Olympia. Other contenders include Jessica Reyes Padilla, third in Columbus last year and fourth at the Olympia; and Tarryn Garlington and Ashley Soto, seventh and eighth at 2019 Olympia.

Janet Layug returns to defend her title in the Bikini International. She will be challenged by 2017 and 2018 champion Angelica Teixeira and 2019 Bikini Olympia winner Elisa Pecini. Two-time champion Ashley Kaltwasser is also in the field.

Four-time defending champion Harold “King Kong” Kelley is the favorite to make it five in a row in the Arnold Classic Pro Wheelchair.

Arnold Classic Physique, Arnold Men’s Physique and Women’s Physique International will feature competitions open to any IFBB Pro League athlete who has finished in the top 3 in a pro contest in 2019. Visit for any updates to the competitor list.

The Fitness International, Figure International and Women’s Physique International will be held on Friday, March 6, 2020; while the Arnold Classic, Arnold Classic Physique, Arnold Men’s Physique and Bikini International will be held on Saturday, March 7, 2020 with prejudging and finals at Battelle Grand.

2020 Arnold Classic, Classic Physique, Men’s Physique, Arnold Classic Pro Wheelchair, Fitness International, Figure International, Bikini International and Physique International Official Invite Lists:

Arnold Classic (14)
Lionel Beyeke
William Bonac
Maxx Charles
“Big Ramy” Ellsbiay
Dexter Jackson
Johnnie Jackson
Steve Kuclo
Josh Lenartowicz

Victor Martinez
Cedric McMillan
Patrick Moore
Sergio Oliva Jr.
Akim Williams

Roelly Winklaar

Classic Physique (11)
Santiago Aragon
Alex Cambronero
Toto Djong
Klaus Drescher
Hyung Joo
Steve Laureus
Abner Logan

Orlando Maldona
Rickey Moten

Abtin Shekarabi
Jason Strayhand

Men’s Physique (12)
Sunny Akhigbe
George Brown
Steven Cao
Yasser Fernando Chala Blandon
Carlos DeOliveira
Andre Ferguson
Xavisus Gayden
Anthony Gilkes
Brandon Henderickson
Ryan John-Baptiste
Derrick Stevenson
Eric Wildberger

Arnold Classic Pro Wheelchair (9)
Gabriele Andriulli

Anand Arnold
Bradley Betts

Tyler Brey
Nadir Hajro

Harold Kelley
Antoni Khadraoui
Daniel Minster

Johnny Quinn

Fitness International (13)
Marta Aguiar
Darrian Borello
Tiffany Chandler
Kate Errington
Kristy Fenster-Avery
Ariel Khadr
Sara Kovach
Haley Lisenba
Katie Mitchell
Jeanine Taddeo
Missy Truscott
Aurika Tyrgale
Derina Wilson

Figure International (18)
Maryam Bamdad
Anna Banks
Brittany Campbell
Tarryn Garlington
Rhea Gayle
Sandra Grajales
Tiffani Herbert-Lapoint
Michelle Lindsay
Lola Montez
Ericka Morales-Morgan
Jessica Reyes Padilla
Natalia Soltero
Ashley Soto
Frida Thestrup
Bojana Vasiljevic
Julia Waring
Latroya Watts
Martina Yabekova

Bikini International (17)
Mahsa Akbarimehr
Romina Basualdo
Beatriz Biscaia
Alessia Facchin
Marcia Goncalves
Daraja Hill
Ashley Kaltwasser
Janet Layug
Priscila Leimbacher
Justine Munro
Elisa Pecini
Camile Periat
Yeshaira Robles
Jennifer Ronzitti
Alexandria Ross
Etila Santiago Santos
Angelica Teixeira

Physique International (13)
Natalia Abraham Coelho
Desunka Dawson
Claudia Diaz
Jeannie Feldman
Mirea Henriquez
Katherine McLaurin
Valentina Mishina
Anne-Lorraine Mohn
Jennifer Taylor
Penpraghai Tiangngok
Trisha Vezirian
Sarah Villegas
Margita Zamolova

Presenting Sponsor: Reign
Diamond Sponsor: ROGUE Fitness
Gold Sponsors: Animal, Europa Sports Products, HOMAGE, Jan Tana, Monster Muscle/Monster Hydro, Optimum Nutrition, Ricart.
Silver Sponsors: Alpha Prime, Amazing Muscle/Amazing Nutrition, Axe & Sledge Supplements, BSN, Piedmontese Beef, FITCRUNCH, Dragon Pharma, Magnum Nutraceuticals, MFIT SUPPS, Muscle Egg, PROSUPPS, Rule OneProteins/Rivalus, SBD Apparel USA, Sweet Sweat Sports Research, TuffWraps.
Bronze Sponsors: Big Sports Inc., Bowmar Fitness,, Celsius, Core Nutritionals/Merica Labz, Green Roads, Grip Genie, Inzer Advance Designs, MET-RX, Mutant, Ohio Lottery, ONE Brands, R3P Life, Redcon1, U.S. Army Recruiting.
SOURCE: Matt Lorz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *