Muscle Sport Magazine

Bonac, Curry Headline 2022 Arnold Classic

Lorz PR


Two-time Arnold Classic champion William “The Conqueror” Bonac and 2019 winner Brandon “The Prodigy” Curry will renew their rivalry at the 2022 Arnold Classic in March in Columbus, Ohio.

Bonac and Curry are among 83 athletes from eight divisions invited to compete in the 2022 Arnold Classic and related IFBB Pro League events at the 2022 Arnold Sports Festival set for March 3-6, 2022.

This year’s event will feature Arnold Classic Men’s Open Bodybuilding Prejudging as part of the Friday Night Finals and the highly-anticipated inaugural Wellness International.

Bonac won the Arnold Classic in 2018 and 2020 while finishing second in 2019 when Curry took home the Arnold Classic champion’s trophy. Bonac was also runner-up when Curry won the Mr. Olympia in 2019. Also in the 34th Annual Arnold Classic field is 2017 champion Cedric McMillan and 2021 top five finishers Steve Kuclo (3rd), Justin Rodriguez (4th) and Akim Williams (5th).

In Arnold Classic Physique, 2021 champion Terrence Ruffin tops a field of nine that also includes 2018 winner Breon Ansley. Ruffin, Ansley, Urs Kalecinski and Ramon Rocha Queiroz all finished in the top five at the 2021 Mr. Olympia.

Erin Banks and Diogo Montenegro lead a field of 10 in Arnold Men’s Physique after finishing second and third, respectively, at the 2021 Mr. Olympia.

Missy Truscott will return to the Arnold stage in search of her third straight Fitness International title. Three athletes who finished in the top five in 2021 — Ariel Khadr(3rd), Jaclyn Baker (4th) and Aurika Tyrgale (5th) — are back and looking to win the Fitness International for the first time.

The past two champions of the Figure International return to Columbus in search of a second title. Natalia Soltero won the Figure International title in 2020 and Cydney Gillon took home top spot in 2019. Jessica Reyes Padilla and Larhannah Robinson, among others, are expected to challenge.

Former champions Elisa Pecini and Ashley Kaltwasser and inaugural Arnold Sports Festival UK winner Phoebe Hagan are among 10 athletes in the Bikini International. Pecini won in Columbus in 2020 and Kalwasser took top honors in 2014 and 2015.

In the inaugural Wellness International, five of the top six from the 2021 Wellness Olympia will battle for the title, including Angela Borges, Isabelle Nunes, Yarishna Ayala, and Julia Chitarra, who finished second through sixth in Orlando in October.

Five-time defending champion Harold “King Kong” Kelley is the favorite to make it six in a row in Arnold Classic Pro Wheelchair.

The Arnold Classic Physique, Fitness International and Figure International Finals and Arnold Classic Men’s Open Bodybuilding Prejudging will highlight the Arnold Friday Night Finals on March 4, 2022. The Arnold Classic, Arnold Men’s Physique, Bikini International and Wellness International Finals will take place during the Arnold Saturday Night Finals on March 5, 2022.

All finals are at the Battelle Grand at the Greater Columbus Convention Center while all prejudging except for Men’s Open Bodybuilding will be on the Arnold Expo Stage.
2022 Arnold Classic, Classic Physique, Men’s Physique, Pro Wheelchair, Fitness International, Figure International, Bikini International and Wellness International Invite Lists:
Arnold Classic (14)
William Bonac (Netherlands)
Rafael Brandão (Brasil)
Maxx Charles (USA)
Brandon Curry (USA)
Samson Dauda (United Kingdom)
Nathan De Asha (United Kingdom)
Regan Grimes (Canada)
Steve Kuclo (USA)
Cedric McMillan (USA)
Fabio Giga Rezende (Brasil)
Justin Rodriguez (USA)
Mohamed Shaaban (Egypt)
Brett Wilkin (USA)
Akim Williams (USA)

Classic Physique (9)
Breon Ansley (USA)
Michael Daboul (United Kingdom)
Urs Kalecinski (Germany)
Peter Molnar (Hungary)
Terrence Ruffin (USA)
Ramon Rocha Queiroz (Brasil)
Darwin Uribe (USA)
Lenny Wicks (USA)
Divine Wilson (USA)

Men’s Physique (11)
Erin Banks (USA)
Choi Bong Seok (South Korea)
Riccardo Croci (Italy)
Terrence Teo Kok Hua (Malaysia)
Drelyn Hunt (USA)
Emanuel Hunter (USA)
Daniel Leone (Italy)
Vincius Mateus (Brasil)
Diogo Montenegro (Brasil)
Ramses Rams (Spain)
Antoine Weatherspoon (USA)

Pro Wheelchair (9)

Gabriele Andriulli (Italy)
Anand Arnold (India)
Bradley Betts (USA)
Adelfo Cerame Jr. (USA)

Harold Kelley (USA)
Antoni Khadraoui (Algeria)
Chad McCrary (USA)
Daniel Minster (Czech Republic)
Johnny Quinn (USA)
Fitness International (10)
Jaclyn Baker (USA)
Amanda Ciani (USA)
Kate Errington (United Kingdom)
Ariel Khadr (USA)
Sara Kovach (USA)
Allison Kramer (USA)
Minna Pajulahti (Finland)
Missy Truscott (USA)
Aurika Tyrgale (USA)
Tamara Vahn (Canada)

Figure International (10)
An Da Jong (South Korea)
Latoya Farley (USA)
Wendy Fortino (USA)
Cydney Gillon (USA)
Nicole Zenobia Graham (USA)
Lola Montez (Canada)
Jessica Reyes Padilla (Puerto Rico)
Larhannah Robinson (USA)
Natalia Soltero (Mexico)
Bojana Vasiljevic (USA)

Bikini International (10)
Maureen Blanquisco (USA)
Lauren Dannenmiller (USA)
Alessia Facchin (Italy)
Phoebe Hagan (United Kingdom)
Ashley Kaltwasser (USA)
Jourdanne Lee (USA)
Lucia Malavaze (USA)
Elisa Pecini (Brasil)
Danielle Phelps (USA)
Allison Testu (France)

Wellness International (10)
Sunny Andrews (USA)
Yarishna Ayala (USA)
Angela Borges (Brasil)
Devyn Cambre (USA)
Barbara Cesar (USA)
Julia Chitarra (Brasil)
Casey DeLong (USA)
Kassandra Gillis (Canada)
Isabelle Nunes (USA)
Lorena Ragusa (USA)


SOURCE: Arnold Sports Festival

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *